top of page

Meet the 2024 GROW Summer Interns

Each year, WOPLAH welcomes a group of grassroots on-site work (GROW) interns from Colorado College. The program has run since 2013 but in the past 4 years students have been working with WOPLAH in a virtual capacity due to complications with the ongoing impacts of the pandemic.

We are excited to announce that this year 4 students traveled to Mumias, Kenya to do hands-on work with WOPLAH. We are excited to work with WOPLAH remotely to support their programming through grant writing, managing social media communications, learning from the community and helping with other tasks to encourage sustainability and a healthy mindset surrounding HIV/AIDS. All of the interns are passionate about public health and upholding WOPLAH's mission to educate and de-stigmatize HIV/AIDS.

We are excited to introduce ourselves and do our part to support WOPLAH, read our bios below!

This year's team visiting the Kakamega National Forest Reserve Area during their first week on site.


Riley Diehl


Hi, my name is Riley! I am a Sophomore at Colorado College studying Psychology and Feminist/Gender Studies. I am from Sedona, Arizona and love all things outdoors, art, and exploring new places! I am excited to be working with WOPLAH, through the GROW Internship as it allows me to learn more about grassroot organization work and experience how local non-profit work is implemented sustainably within a community. Additionally, this internship has provided me with the opportunity to work withing the public health world, which I plan to continue to do after graduating CC!










Elise Evans


Hi everyone! My name is Elise Evans and I am a rising junior at Colorado College. I am majoring in Neuroscience and minoring in Biochemistry on the pre-med track. I love nature, hiking, baking, and reading. I am interested in working in medicine, so I am grateful for this opportunity to learn about making healthcare more equitable and accessible for everyone. I am also eager to learn about how WOPLAH makes an impact at the local level through community engagement. I am so excited to be a part of WOPLAH this summer!










Willow Lott


Hello! My name is Willow Lott and I’m a rising sophomore studying International Political Economy at Colorado College. I am originally from Durango, Colorado and enjoy spending my free time trail running, mountain biking, rafting, climbing, skiing, and eating charcuterie! I run cross country and track, work at CCs climbing gym, direct a harm reduction campaign that aims to reduce overdose through legislative action. I am grateful and excited for the opportunity to learn about public health initiatives in Mumias this summer. I chose to work with WOPLAH because they serve people living positively in every aspect of their lives, working to address each challenge someone affected by HIV/AIDS faces. WOPLAH cultivates a network of support that empowers their key populations to thrive, integrating initiatives like community-building, support groups, economic empowerment, nutrition, agricultural education, destigmatization, and medical care. I believe that reformatory action within the American healthcare system can be modeled from WOPLAH’s holistic approach, finding wellness at the intersection of economic, social, and medical empowerment.

I look forward to forging connections with people in Mumias, learn some Kiswahili and eventually overcome my fear of falling off the Boda-Bodas!

Tutaonana baadaye!


Skye McCrimmon

Hello everyone! My name is Skye and I am a rising senior at CC. After doing the GROW summer internship virtually last year, I was excited by the possibility of doing the internship again but on the ground in Mumias, Kenya. I am excited to be working as this year’s coordinator for the program. Our team is so excited to be the first year back since the pandemic. At Colorado College, I am majoring in Biochemsitry. I grew up in Denver, Colorado. I love to spend time outdoors: skiing, backpacking, and swimming. And I love to travel, read and spend time with friends. I chose to become a GROW intern because I am super interested in public health and specifically global health equity. I am super excited to work with WOPLAH and learn more about their grassroots organizing and community initiatives. I look forward to continuing to foster the relationship between Colorado College’s Public and Global Health Club (PGH) and WOPLAH down the road.






Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page