top of page

Meet the 2023 Summer GROW Interns!

Each year, WOPLAH welcomes a group of grassroots on-site/online work (GROW) interns from Colorado College. In the past, interns have traveled to Mumias, Kenya and done hands-on work with WOPLAH. However, due to the pandemic the internship has been done remotely. While we are unable to complete the internship in person, we are excited to work with WOPLAH remotely to support their programming through grant writing, managing social media communications, and helping with other tasks to encourage sustainability and a healthy mindset surrounding HIV/AIDS. All of the interns are passionate about public health and upholding WOPLAH's mission to educate and de-stigmatize HIV/AIDS.

We are excited to introduce ourselves and do our part to support WOPLAH, read our bios below!


Andrew Han

Hello all! My name is Andrew Han, and I am super grateful for the opportunity to work with WOPLAH this summer. I am originally from San José, California, but now I am a rising junior at Colorado College and am majoring in Neuroscience and minoring in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. I am planning on working in medicine or public health, so I am very appreciative of the potential to learn first-hand how grassroots non-profit organizations benefit communities. I am beyond excited to be working with the Mumias community and to learn more about Kenyan culture this summer! Beyond school, I love running, I enjoy fixing and riding bicycles, and building things out of wood.


Jessica Aggrey




Hello everyone, my name is Jessica Aggrey and I am a rising Junior majoring in Neuroscience with an Africana studies minor on the pre-med track. I love working with non-profit organizations and currently work with an organization called YAASPA (Young Aspiring Americans for Social and Political Activism) which is dedicated to amplifying youth voices within their communities. I am excited to work with WOPLAH this summer because it is important to me that I induce change not only in my community but globally as well, especially within healthcare systems.






Jennifer Aggrey



Hey everyone. My name is Jennifer Aggrey, and I am a rising junior at Colorado College. I am majoring in Neuroscience and minoring in Africana studies while on the premed track. I am very passionate about healthcare disparities not only in the United States but also around the world. As a future medical doctor, I hope to help make healthcare accessible for everyone regardless of skin color or background. Working with WOPLAH will help me learn more about what equity in healthcare can look like. I am very excited about this summer!



Skye McCrimmon

Hi everyone! My name is Skye McCrimmon and I am a rising junior at Colorado College. I will be majoring in either Neuroscience or Chemistry on the pre-med track. I am from Denver, Colorado. I love to spend time outdoors: skiing, backpacking, and swimming. And I love to travel, read and spend time with friends. I chose to become a GROW intern because I am super interested in public health and specifically global health equity. I am super excited to work with WOPLAH and learn more about their grassroots organizing and community initiatives. I am excited to continue to foster the relationship between Colorado College’s chapter of Globe Med and WOPLAH down the road and during the academic year. I’m super excited for this opportunity to work with WOPLAH this summer!


Haley Andrews


Hello! My name is Haley and I am the internship coordinator for this summer’s GROW internship. I am very excited to connect with WOPLAH and to help in any way possible! I am originally from Minnesota, but now am a rising junior at Colorado College. I will be majoring in neuroscience and minoring in Spanish on a pre-med track. I am currently working to get my EMT certification and have really enjoyed connecting more with members of my community that I would not normally have a chance to interact with. After graduating, I plan on taking a gap year or two to hopefully work as an EMT or with the Peace Corps so I am able to get some hands-on experience in the medical field. Outside of school, I love to go hiking, canoeing, and skiing. I chose to become a GROW intern because I believe that the best way to create a healthier community is through education, prevention, and destigmatization. I am looking forward to working with WOPLAH this summer to strengthen my technical writing skills in addition to being part of all of the amazing things that WOPLAH does!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page